Sketchbook Snapshots

psshdw.jpgSketchbook drawing Peter Schlemihl
This post is my opportunity to share my thought and images as they are being developed in my sketchbook. I invite you to comment and respond particularly through images. I am also interested in exploring this strategy as a way of sharing ideas – would you be interested in contributing via flickr?
I am currently exploring the C18 story of Peter Schlemihl a story of a man who sold,regretted and reclaimed his shadow – as the basis for a series of paintings, prints and an animation. I include an example of an illustration for the book by the book’s first illustrator – Edward Cruikshank – a marvellous English artist who illustrated – amongst other books – the tragical Comedy of Mr Punch. This connection is beginning to influence the drawings !!

Leave a Reply

